Show/Hide Left Slide Menu



About Mauritius, the home of SWAN

Location and constitution
Mauritius is an independent island state located 890km to the east of Madagascar in the Indian Ocean. The island has more than 150km of sandy beaches, well protected by coral reefs which act as a barrier to the open sea.

As a democracy, Mauritius is led by a President who is nominated by parliament. The President holds executive authority, acting on the advice of the government. The Prime Minister is the head of the government with power to advise the President on the nomination and removal of Ministers. The Parliament is constituted of 62 elected members; of which 60 are elected in Mauritius and two elected in Rodrigues. The constitution also provides for eight seats of best losers.

With its origins in sugar, the Mauritian economy gradually diversified into the textile industry in the late 1970s. It further diversified into the services sectors including tourism and financial services.

Today, the services sector accounts for 75% of the GDPs. The authority is now looking into developing the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector by establishing call centres and disaster recovery centres. The four pillars of the economy are currently sugar, the export processing zone (EPZ), tourism and financial services sectors.

Doing business in Mauritius
Strategically located in the Indian Ocean, Mauritius is ideally placed as a platform for business between Asia and Africa. Mauritius is part of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and Common Market for the Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).
Please contact us for a Mauritius in brief presentation

About Mauritius